Tornado


 
Tornado


download audio
 
I never really thought a storm could break
apart our home, but after years of cracked
doorways, shifting floors, there’s no mistake:
that one disastrous wind swept in, compact
and pissed. It smashed our phony life to bits.
I wanted more than rainy days and long
walks into the fog. Your bitter fits
got worse. Empty bottles aren’t a strong
foundation. Too much sand, the mortar rots.
Then the storm’s rotation spawned a wind
we could not face together. All my knots
unraveled all at once. I cried, you grinned,
the devil slammed your truck upon the deck.
A pity roses bloom beneath the wreck.
 
 

Comments
2 Responses to “Tornado”
  1. Joel Torres says:

    I had exactly the same thing. It kept happening and I just thought I was feeling low because I’d had a very difficult and traumatic few years. I kept bursting into tears in public places, which was most out of character for me. And it felt like I was crying for no reason. Then it got worse, until I was literally sitting at home and crying every single day. I felt as if I’d never stop crying! And it was this, as well as other things, that forced me to accept that I was suffering with depression. I would suggest you go and see your doctor, and for starters, have a full set of blood tests – just to rule out any physical cause for your sadness. If you have underactive thyroid, for instance, it can mimic depression. Clearly you are feeling very sad – whether you actually have depression or not, I can’t say, but you can read up about it and see if you recognise the other signs. Ask your doctor to refer you for counselling so that you can get to the bottom of why you’re so tearful. If counselling doesn’t seem to help, then there are anti depressants. I tried many different ‘natural’ remedies to help me, but nothing did, and ultimately I’ve had to start medication just in order to function normally. Do go to your doctor, and do know that this problem won’t last – there is lots of help out there for you! Perhaps you could also confide in a good friend or relative about how low you’re feeling. You should also consider whether you have some type of hormone imbalance; is it possible that you’re experiencing extreme PMS? Keep a record of how you are each day and see if any pattern emerges. Hope you feel better soon.

  2. Reblogged this on The Daily 400 and commented:
    Part twelve of “Cloud Studies,” a sonnet sequence, by Christine Klocek-Lim.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

